L'alfabeto georgiano
home | Georgia | alphabet and language

Georgian alphabet

The Georgian alphabet is the script currently used to write the Georgian language and other Kartvelian languages (Mingrelian, Svan and sometimes Laz), and occasionally other languages of the Caucasus (such as Ossetic and Abkhaz in the 1940s).

The Georgian language has phonemic orthography and the modern alphabet has thirty-three letters.
The Georgian word for "alphabet" is "anbani", after the first two letters of the Georgian alphabet.

alfabeto georgiano


Georgian language

Georgian (kartuli ena) is the official language of Georgia.

Georgian is the primary language of about 3.9 million people in Georgia itself (83 percent of the population), and of another 500,000 abroad (chiefly in Turkey, Iran, Russia, USA and Europe). It is the literary language for all ethnographic groups of Georgian people, especially those who speak other South Caucasian languages (or Kartvelian languages): Svans, Mingrelians, and the Laz. Gruzinic, or "Kivruli", sometimes considered a separate Jewish language, is spoken by an additional 20,000 in Georgia and 65,000 elsewhere (primarily 60,000 in Israel).